6 miles southeast of San Andreas on Calaveras Road.
From Discover Historical California:
Almost all Calavertias' buildings were destroyed by fire in 1858, bringing an end to the town that Mexican miners founded in 1849. Today, only ruins of some of the original buildings remain.
From the SHL plaque:
Calaveritas, settled in 1849 by Mexicans was a flourishing mining town with stores, saloons and fandango halls. Joaquin Murieta is reported to have frequently visited its fandango halls and gambling houses. Destroyed by fire in 1858.
State registered landmark no. 255.
Marker placed by California Centennials Commission. Base furnished by Calaveras country 20-30 Club. Dedicated June 8, 1950.